Architects’  
Fr o m t h e E d i t o r  
Guide  
TO GLASS & METAL  
Editorial  
Director  
Ellen Rogers  
Extension 118 • erogers@glass.com  
Get There Early  
Editor  
Nick St. Denis  
Extension 131 • nstdenis@glass.com  
Contributing  
Editor  
Tara Taffera  
Extension 113 • ttaffera@glass.com  
rchitects continue to design increasingly complex  
facades and building envelopes, specifying unique  
geometries and sizes of glass to serve a variety of  
functions.  
Special Projects  
Editor  
Megan Headley  
Extension 114 • mheadley@glass.com  
Art Director/  
Managing Editor Extension 150 • dcampbell@glass.com  
Dawn Campbell  
Meanwhile, building owners, developers and gen-  
a
Art  
Saundra Hutchison  
eral contractors have sky-high expectations speed,  
cost and quality.  
Additionally, more and more large-scale projects  
are going up in dense urban developments, making  
the jobs all that more complicated.  
You think this would scare the heck out of the  
contract glazing community. Turns out, it doesn’t.  
The benefit for glaziers is two-fold: the more glass  
being specified, the more glass there is to install.  
And the more complex glass applications become,  
the more valuable the glazing contractor is.  
Director  
Extension 132 • shutchison@glass.com  
Advertising  
Coordinator  
Erin Harris  
Extension 110 • eharris@glass.com  
Events  
Manager  
Tina Czar  
Extension 115 • tczar@glass.com  
Marketing  
Director  
Holly Biller  
Extension 123 • hbiller@glass.com  
Marketing  
Manager  
Kelcy Summers  
Extension 117 • ksummers@glass.com  
Customer  
Relations Mgr.  
Janeen Mulligan  
Extension 112 • jmulligan@glass.com  
Web  
Developer  
Bryan Hovey  
Extension 125 • bhovey@glass.com  
“Collaboration” is the buzzword in modern  
day construction and architecture, and the glazier  
is key in getting a project off the ground proper-  
ly—and just as importantly, minimizing potential  
issues at installation.  
Video  
Producer  
Chris Bunn  
Extension 121 • cbunn@glass.com  
Publisher  
Debra A. Levy  
Extension 111 • deb@glass.com  
Nick St. Denis  
Enclos’ Mic Patterson contends that the façade is  
Published by Key Communications Inc.  
P.O. Box 569  
“generally the most complex and logistically demand-  
ing system in a contemporary building project.”  
Because if this, it’s important to involve the  
glazier as early in the process as possible. Of course,  
contract types and processes vary depending on  
whether it’s integrated project delivery (IPD), design-  
assist, etc. But the theme is consistant: collaboration.  
That’s not to say it goes without challenges.  
The increased responsibility that comes with  
more involvement in things such as engineering and  
load calculations means more up-front work for the  
façade contractor. In turn, the contractor has to ded-  
icate more time and resources.  
Garrisonville, VA 22463 USA  
540/720-5584; fax 540/720-5687  
Advertising Offices:  
Midwest  
Lisa Naugle  
Associate Publisher  
lnaugle@glass.com  
312/850-0899 Fax 312/277-2912  
Southeast  
Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
770/664-4567 Fax 770/740-1399  
Northeast,  
West Coast,  
and Canada  
Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
360/563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Many think that design-assist, for example, is  
Europe  
Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
about inviting the façade contractor in early and  
getting them to do as much free work as possible,”  
Patterson says. “Collaborative delivery processes  
such as IPD and design-assist do not make the  
work easier or cheaper, and they are no simple  
panacea for complexity.”  
The point being: glaziers offer huge value to the  
design team, but that value must be understood.  
That was the topic of a new Architects’ Guide to  
Glass & Metal section called “The Last Word,”  
which you can find at the end of this issue.  
Enjoy the magazine, and if there’s one take-away,  
let it be this: collaborate and appreciate. AGG  
9
9 Kings Road, Westcliff on Sea  
Essex SS0 8PH ENGLAND  
44) 1-702-477341 Fax (44) 1-702-477559  
(
China and All Others Contact Publisher Directly  
Debra A. Levy  
Extension 111 • deb@glass.com  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced  
in any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both  
print and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media  
Services department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
4
www.glassguides.com