DWM-logo.gif (6532 bytes)
Volume 6   Issue 5                June 2005

      People in the News

ICC Elects Directors and Officers

The membership of the International Code Council (ICC) has appointed new officers and elected directors to its board at the organization’s recent annual conference. 

“The board has a good mix of new and returning members that enhances their professional knowledge and leadership skills,” said James Lee Witt, ICC chief executive officer.

Frank Hodge was named president of the council. Hodge is the director of building and fire codes for the town of Hilton Head Island, S.C., and is a certified building official. He has served on the ICC board of directors since 1999.

The new vice president is Henry Green, who is the executive director of the Bureau of Construction Codes for the Michigan Department of Labor and Economic Growth. Green was elected to the board in 2002 and previously served from 1994 to 1998. 

William Bailey was appointed secretary/ treasurer of the ICC board. He is the director of development and construction for the city of Fort Smith, Ark. As a certified building official, he has served on the board since 2000.

Three board members, Ed Berkel, Bill Dupler and Adolf Zubia, were reelected to the board.

Wilhelm Appointed FMA Executive Director 
The Fenestration Manufacturers Association’s (FMA) board of directors has announced the appointment of Dick Wilhelm as the new executive director. Wilhelm will replace Dennis Braddy, who accepted the executive director’s position with the Building Officials Association of Florida. 

Wilhelm’s consulting business has focused on assisting fenestration and laminate manufacturers in entering or improving their position in the hurricane and/or blast markets, according to the association. 

Wilhelm has consulted and provided market development and governmental affairs services to the Landscape Designers Association, the Monsanto Company, Solutia Inc., American Cyanamid and European Fenestration LLC.

He has represented Solutia Inc. exclusively since 1997 in appraising the company and its customers in building codes and standard regulations, the Florida Product Approval system, laminate performance, impact testing support and market development of impact system components through architectural and manufacturer calls. 

The new FMA office will be located at the center of state government and the Florida Legislature in Tallahassee, Fla.

NFRC Announces New Officers and Board Members 
The National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC) has elected a new board of directors.

Marvin Stover of Mikron Industries Inc., will serve as chair who will replace Tony Rygg of the California Energy Commission. Rygg, who has served for three years, will remain on the board. 

The group also elected Alecia Ward from the Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance, as vice-chair and Kate Offringa from the Alliance to Save Energy as treasurer. Marcia Falke from Keystone Certifications Inc. was re-elected as secretary. 

The board announced the winners of elected board positions. James Larsen of Cardinal Glass Industries was chosen as a representative for the fenestration industry category. Ken Nittler from WESTLab was named for the laboratory category and Steve Selkowitz of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory was elected under the general and public interest category. 

© Copyright Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved. No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.