DWM-logo.gif (6532 bytes)
Volume 7   Issue 1               January 2006

Ones to Watch 
People in the News


NFRC Membership Elects Six Board Members

The National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC) has elected six members to serve on the organization’s board of directors, effective December 2005.  

The following members were elected to fill specific member categories:

• Chuck Anderson, Simonton Windows – fenestration industry/residential category;
• Elaine Hebert, California Energy Commission – general interest/code and regulatory category;
• Harry Misuriello, Alliance to Save Energy – general interest/ energy efficiency organization;
• Michael Thoman, Architectural Testing Inc. – laboratory category; 
• Gary Curtis, The WestWall Group – general interest (non-fenestration) category; and
• Marcia Falke, Keystone Certifi-cations Inc. – fenestration category – general.

These new members will join Marvin Stover, chairperson; Alecia Ward, vice chairperson; James Larsen; Mike Manteghi; Steve Selkowitz; and Garrett Stone on the NFRC board of directors.

According to Survey and Ballot Systems Inc., which independently managed and certified the election, 59.4 percent of eligible members cast votes in the election, the highest participation rate in NFRC history.

“The record participation rate is a sign of how committed our members are to the future success of the organization,” said Jim Benney, NFRC’s executive director.  

Sen. Pryor Elected Chair of Alliance to Save Energy 

The Alliance to Save Energy’s board of directors has elected Sen. Mark Pryor (D-Ark.) as its new chairperson. Pryor replaces Sen. Byron Dorgan (D-N.D.), who has served as the Alliance’s chair for the past four years. Dorgan will remain on the board as one of seven congressional vice-chairs.

Pryor joins James H. DeGraffenreidt, Jr., as Alliance’s co-chair. DeGraffenreidt is the chairperson and chief executive officer of Washington Gas.

FMA Elects New Board of Directors at Fall Conference 

The Fenestration Manufacturers Association (FMA) announced the election of its board of directors at its fall conference, October 18-20, 2005. 

According to an FMA news release, the association’s board of directors is responsible for establishing the vision and direction of the organization, while providing guidance to the executive director and the many ongoing efforts in support of its members. 

Officers elected include:

• Bob Braatz of ESP Windows as president;
• Bruce Jasewic of Windoor Inc. as vice president;
• Freddie Cole of General Aluminum as secretary; and
• Dennis Chappel of NuAir Windows as treasurer. 
Elected board members include:
• Robert Amaruso of Florida Extruders;
• Craig Duncan of Film Technologies;
• Jim Krahn of Marvin Windows and Doors;
• Michael LeFevre of Custom Window; 
• Jim Puckett of Kinco Ltd.;
• Mark Daniels of Sika Corp.; and 
• Kristin Leonard of Alliance Windows in Slidell, La. 

Newly-elected board members include Mark Daniels and the first-ever female FMA board member, Kristin Leonard. New board members replace Boyd Kurt of PPG Industries who is retiring, and Roland Temple of Velux Inc. 

Appointed positions included Greg Moran of Sika Corp. as marketing director, and Fred McCormack as general counsel of record. Dick Wilhelm continues to serve as executive director of FMA. 


Edgetech I.G. Inc. Names Joe Erb Product Manager

Edgetech I.G. Inc. of Cambridge, Ohio, has named Joe Erb product manager. Erb’s responsibilities will include direct support, marketing and sales of Edgetech’s various new product areas including the Uvekol® Liquid Laminate product line, Liquid Laminate Tape and the Super Spacer® Tri-Seal™ product line, as well as commercial business development and assistance with new product launches. 

Erb joined Edgetech in 1994 and previously held the positions of technical sales manager in the Western region and technical services manager. He holds degrees in industrial engineering technology and mechanical engineering technology from Kent State University. Erb is an active member of the Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance and Insulating Glass Certification Council. 

Gorell Enterprises Announces Management Changes

Gorell Enterprises Inc. of Indiana, Pa., has made several changes to its management structure to allow for the continued growth of the company in 2006 and beyond. Michael Rempel, previously vice president of administration, has now assumed responsibility for the daily operations of the door and window manufacturer in his new role as president and chief operating officer. Wayne C. Gorell, who founded the company in 1994, will continue in the capacity of chairperson and chief executive officer.

In addition, three Gorell managers have been elevated to executive positions in the company: Volker Valentin is the new vice president of operations. Richard Robson has been promoted to vice president, materials management and Brian Zimmerman assumes a new position—vice president, corporate development.

“In my new role, I will remain very much involved in the company, but will focus on exploring new opportunities and directions for the company to continue its traditional double digit growth pattern,” Gorell said.


Technoform Appoints Jeff Lehman I-Spacer™ Sales and Marketing Manager

Technoform of Cleveland, Ohio, has appointed Jeff Lehman as I-Spacer sales and marketing manager, North America. In his new role, Lehman is responsible for overseeing all sales and marketing activity for I-Spacer in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

Lehman was previously employed with Alcoa, where he’d served since 1991 as sales manager for the Northeast/Midwest, supplying extruded aluminum shapes to the door and window market. He also has 12 years of technical sales experience in the aerospace industry selling forged products to airline OEMs and assembly facilities. 

“Jeff possesses a unique combination of skills and experiences, having worked extensively in the aluminum and aerospace industries,” said Mark Silverberg, president. “He will be a critical asset for us as we continue to introduce the warm-edge benefits of I-Spacer to the North American marketplace.”


© Copyright 2006 Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved. No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.