F R O M T H E P U B L I S H E R  
ttaffera@glass.com  
Incorp®orating  
SHELTER Magazine  
DOOR  
&
WINDOW MARKET MAGAZINE  
Publisher/  
Tara Taffera  
Editorial Director  
ttaffera@glass.com z x113  
Editor  
Trey Barrineau  
tbarrineau@glass.com z x130  
Assistant Editor  
Casey Flores  
cflores@glass.com z x120  
Contributing Editors Nick St. Denis  
nstdenis@glass.com z x131  
It’s AbBoY uT AtRtAoT AGF FeEtR AWorse  
Ellen Rogers  
erogers@glass.com z x118  
Art Director/  
Dawn Campbell  
Managing Editor  
dcampbell@glass.com z x150  
Art Director  
Saundra Hutchison  
shutchison@glass.com z x132  
he phone conversations usually requires employers to report work-re-  
go a little something like this lated amputations, in-patient hospi-  
[insert annoyed tone]: “Do you talizations or the loss of an eye within  
all just scour the Internet looking for 24 hours.) “That’s pretty much over-  
a window and door company that had whelmed them.”  
Advertising  
Coordinator  
Events Manager  
Erin Harris  
eharris@glass.com z x110  
T
Tina Czar  
tczar@glass.com z x115  
Marketing Director Holly Biller  
hbiller@glass.com z x123  
Marketing Manager Kelcy Summers  
ksummers@glass.com z x117  
Customer Relations Janeen Mulligan  
Manager  
Web Developer  
a safety violation and then report on it  
The above quote really surprised  
for your e-newsletter [and website]?” me. Keeping up with these serious  
asks the caller. Our response usual- injuries has overwhelmed them? No  
ly goes a little something like this: wonder they are putting this new pro-  
jmulligan@glass.com z x112  
Bryan Hovey  
bhovey@glass.com z x125  
When we see reports that a door or gram into place. They are, in essence,  
window company is involved in an letting others do the work for them.  
OSHA violation, it’s news. We cover I mean, on one level, it makes sense,  
the door and window industry, and it’s but read Trey’s article for all the con-  
our job to keep our readers informed.” sequences that may ensue.  
Another alarming fact is how much  
Video Producer  
Chris Bunn  
cbunn@glass.com z x121  
Published by Key Communications Inc.  
Debra Levy, president  
0 PGA Drive, Suite 201  
2
Stafford, Virginia 22554  
A new requirement going  
OSHA’s new silica rule will cost the con-  
540/720-5584 z fax: 540/720-5687 z www.glass.com  
into effect this August will  
put the entire injury and  
illness history of most U.S.  
companies into a searchable  
online database.  
Yes, we cover the accidents, but we per year—roughly $4.5 billion per year  
also report on those who reach safety more than OSHA’s estimates. That  
milestones. And in this month’s issue, fact immediately brought me back to  
DWM editor Trey Barrineau gives you the lead paint rule and the degree to  
six pages of in-depth information which the Environmental Protection  
struction industry, which aims to limit  
workers’ exposure to crystalline silica.  
Last year, the Construction Industry  
Safety Coalition (CISC) released a  
study claiming the rule will cost the  
U.S. construction industry $5 billion  
z ADVERTISING OFFICES z  
Midwest,  
Plain States  
and Texas  
Lisa Naugle  
lnaugle@glass.com  
312/850-0899 z fax: 312/277-2912  
Southeast  
Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
770/664-4567 z fax: 770/740-1399  
Northeast, West Coast  
and Canada  
Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
3
60/563-4936 z fax: 888/786-8777  
Europe  
Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
9
9 Kings Road  
Westcliff on Sea  
(
ty landscape is about to change. If mated how much that would cost  
you hate the Occupational Safety and industry companies.  
starts on page 18) on how the safe- Agency (EPA) had sorely underesti-  
Essex SSO 8PH England  
(
44) 1-702-477341 z fax: (44) 1-702-477559  
China and Asia  
Contact Publisher Directly  
z EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS  
Health Administration now (OSHA),  
Some regulation is needed, yes, but  
Michael Chausse, vice president, Vi-Lux Building Products.  
Chris Dimou, CEO, Roto Frank North America, general manager, the  
Americas.  
Tim Dykstra, director of sales, moulding and trim, Royal Building Products  
Scott Gates, president, COO, Western Window Systems  
Ron Hess, CEO, Window Depot  
Matt Hullander, owner, Hullco Exteriors  
Heather Matthews, marketing manager, Eastern Metal Supply/  
Eastern Architectural Systems  
Mark Montgomery, vice president, marketing, US Windows, Ply Gem  
Building Products  
Joe Shaheen, director, sales and marketing, GED Integrated Solutions  
Heather Sonnenberg, Therma-Tru, vice president of strategic marketing  
Kari Tamminga, marketing manager WTS Paradigm  
hold on—it’s about to get worse. A with EPA and OSHA, I can understand  
new requirement going into effect this why many are concerned. Heck, I can  
August will put the entire injury and understand why one of our largest  
illness history of most U.S. companies door and window makers, Jeld-Wen,  
into a searchable online database.  
cited regulations as having a potential  
“Obviously, that’s going to be a impact on the company in its initial  
whole lot of information that OSHA’s public offering filed in June 2016 (see  
about to receive, and they’ve been pages 8 and 13). If that’s proof of the  
pretty swamped since January 1,” real effect this has on industry com-  
says Terry Burkhalter, an authorized panies—and that’s a large corpora-  
OSHA instructor and vice president tion—imagine what it means to the  
of risk control services with Willis smaller ones (Trey addresses that in  
Towers Watson in Knoxville, Tenn. his article too).  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced  
in any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both  
print and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media  
Services department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
Member  
That’s when the new Severe Injury  
So be prepared: OSHA’s reach is  
Reporting Program went into effect. It expanding. Are you ready?  
y
4
Door & Window Market