F R O M T H E P U B L I S H E R  
ttaffera@glass.com  
Incorp®orating  
SHELTER Magazine  
DOOR  
&
WINDOW MARKET MAGAZINE  
Publisher/  
Editorial Director  
Tara Taffera  
ttaffera@glass.com z x113  
Editor  
Trey Barrineau  
tbarrineau@glass.com z x130  
Contributing Editors Katherine Coig  
kcoig@glass.com z x152  
Nick St. Denis  
Lessons from  
an InB YdTuA RsAtrTyA FLF EeRgA end  
nstdenis@glass.com z x131  
Ellen Rogers  
erogers@glass.com z x118  
Dawn Campbell  
dcampbell@glass.com z x150  
Saundra Hutchison  
shutchison@glass.com z x132  
Art Director/  
Managing Editor  
Art Director  
Advertising  
Coordinator  
Erin Harris  
eharris@glass.com z x110  
uss Ebeid, former president of Guardian  
Glass, was a force of nature in the glass  
industry. In fact, he was the embodiment  
of the industry in which he spent his whole  
adult life—and the industry he shaped. DWM’s  
president Debra Levy was especially saddened  
to learn of his death in late July (see page 68). So  
this month I give her this page to share some  
things she learned from him—great lessons we  
can all apply to our lives and businesses:  
Marketing Director Holly Biller  
hbiller@glass.com z x123  
Tina Czar  
tczar@glass.com z x115  
Marketing Assistants Jen Mugridge  
jmugridge@glass.com z x117  
R
Director of Events  
Jenna Reed  
jreed@glass.com z x135  
Customer Relations Janeen Mulligan  
Manager  
Web Developer  
jmulligan@glass.com z x112  
Bryan Hovey  
bhovey@glass.com z x125  
Chris Bunn  
Video Producer  
Never forget where you came from. Russ  
cbunn@glass.com z x121  
Ebeid could relate to so many people because  
Published by Key Communications Inc.  
Debra Levy, president  
0 P G A Drive, Suite 201  
Stafford, Virginia 22554  
he knew what it was like to grow up in a Russ Ebeid at glasstec 2010.  
family of modest means. He believed in the  
American dream because he was a product of it. He once told me that he  
could know everything he needed to about a person just by getting answers  
to three questions, two of which were “where did you grow up?” and “what  
did your dad do for a living?”  
2
5
40/720-5584 z fax: 540/720-5687 z www.glass.com  
z ADVERTISING OFFICES z  
Midwest,  
Plain States  
and Texas  
Lisa Naugle  
lnaugle@glass.com  
312/850-0899 z fax: 312/277-2912  
Southeast  
Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
Never be satisfied with the status quo. Together with his mentor Bill  
Davidson, Ebeid challenged the way plants were built and glass was sold.  
When they wanted to be in a particular part of the market, they went in with  
the intention of winning it—and they usually did. They opened plants in  
countries when they were told they couldn’t and, by the time they were done,  
they had transformed Guardian from a domestic windshield fabricator into a  
leading worldwide manufacturer of glass and building products.  
Disruption can be a good thing. Ebeid recognized that there was opportu-  
nity in disruption and often made the most of that opportunity. “People call  
us renegades,” he told me once, “but a lot of renegades are very successful  
because they seize opportunity even if it’s uncomfortable.”  
7
70/664-4567 z fax: 770/740-1399  
Northeast, West Coast Josh Lentz  
and Canada  
Europe  
jlentz@glass.com  
60/563-4936 z fax: 888/786-8777  
3
Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
9
9 Kings Road  
Westcliff on Sea  
Essex SSO 8PH England  
(
44) 1-702-477341 z fax: (44) 1-702-477559  
Asia and  
South America  
Casey Flores  
cflores@glass.com  
1
44 Penn Avenue  
Pittsburgh, PA 15210  
Tel: 540/602-3268  
Contact Publisher Directly  
Play hardball when you have to. And when Ebeid felt he had to, he did. He  
stared down governments and suppliers when necessary, often with the  
desired results. “The problem with this is that you must be willing to live up  
to your word,” he said.  
All others  
z EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS  
Michael Chausse, vice president, Vi-Lux Building Products.  
Chris Dimou, CEO, Roto Frank North America, general manager,  
the Americas.  
You can learn from everyone. Russ Ebeid was incredibly kind to me person-  
ally over the years. He invited me to speak before his senior management  
group a few years ago to offer my insights about the glass industry. I confess  
I was a bit nervous about that one, and felt a wave of incredible relief pour  
through me at the end when he said I’d hit it spot on. After it was over, he said  
to me, “See, I can learn things from you, too.” I treasured that comment.  
Know when it’s time to go. A couple of months after he retired, our associate  
publisher, Lisa Naugle, and I went to visit him at the country club in suburban  
Detroit that he had purchased and was now going to run. It was a move that had  
left me scratching my head a bit, so I asked him about it. “Everyone wants me to  
consult, to write a book, to teach—all about the glass industry. I have no interest  
in doing that; I’ve done that. I need to be able to learn new things. I need a chal-  
lenge and this will be enough of a challenge for me. It’s just time to move on.” y  
Tim Dykstra, director of sales, moulding and trim, Royal Building Products  
Scott Gates, president, CEO, Western Window Systems  
Ron Hess, CEO, Window Depot  
Matt Hullander, owner, Hullco Exteriors  
Mark Montgomery, vice president, marketing, US Windows, Ply Gem  
Building Products  
Joe Shaheen, director, sales and marketing, GED Integrated Solutions  
Kari Tamminga, marketing manager WTS Paradigm  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced  
in any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both  
print and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media  
Services department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
Member  
4
Door & Window Market  

DWM
© 2017 Copyright Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved. 
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.