F R O M T H E P U B L I S H E R  
ttaffera@glass.com  
Incorp®orating  
SHELTER Magazine  
DOOR  
&
WINDOW MARKET MAGAZINE  
Publisher/  
Tara Taffera  
Editorial Director  
ttaffera@glass.com z x113  
Editor  
Trey Barrineau  
tbarrineau@glass.com z x130  
Contributing Editors Katherine Coig  
kcoig@glass.com z x152  
The Real  
RevBoY luT AtRiAoTnA FBF EeR gA ins  
Nick St. Denis  
nstdenis@glass.com z x131  
Ellen Rogers  
erogers@glass.com z x118  
Art Director/  
Dawn Campbell  
Managing Editor  
dcampbell@glass.com z x150  
Art Director  
Saundra Hutchison  
shutchison@glass.com z x132  
hile watching the news a looking specifically at software auto-  
few months ago, I heard this mation on page 29.  
Advertising  
Coordinator  
Events Manager  
Erin Harris  
eharris@glass.com z x110  
W
general quote made by a  
“Our industry has been one of the  
Tina Czar  
politician: “The U.S. is losing X jobs slowest to embrace technology,” says  
to overseas workers.” Another source Nick Carter, president of WoodWare  
then countered by asking an import- Systems. “Part of it is there is a manual  
ant question: “Are U.S. manufacturing side of our business we can’t get away  
jobs truly moving overseas or are we from. But I don’t think we’ve even  
losing those jobs to automation?” I scratched the surface in terms of what  
didn’t hear a concrete answer to this we can do to streamline the way that  
question, so I decided to search for information is utilized.”  
tczar@glass.com z x115  
Marketing Director Holly Biller  
hbiller@glass.com z x123  
Customer Relations Janeen Mulligan  
Manager  
Web Developer  
jmulligan@glass.com z x112  
Bryan Hovey  
bhovey@glass.com z x125  
Video Producer  
Chris Bunn  
cbunn@glass.com z x121  
Published by Key Communications Inc.  
one. Because frankly it just seemed  
that the latter rang true.  
I would counter that perhaps the  
door and window industry hasn’t even  
Debra Levy, president  
0 P G A Drive, Suite 201  
2
Stafford, Virginia 22554  
40/720-5584 z fax: 540/720-5687 z www.glass.com  
5
From 2006 to 2013, ‘manufacturing grew  
by 17.6%, or at roughly 2.2% per year,’  
z ADVERTISING OFFICES z  
Ball State University  
Midwest,  
Plain States  
and Texas  
Lisa Naugle  
lnaugle@glass.com  
312/850-0899 z fax: 312/277-2912  
So not surprisingly, yes, that poli- made a small scuff—and there are  
tician was wrong. Fortunehad a great plenty of reasons why we should.  
Southeast  
Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
article on the subject posted on its  
website on November 8, 2016.  
First, we all know how hard it is to  
find quality employees—automating  
770/664-4567 z fax: 770/740-1399  
Northeast, West Coast Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
and Canada  
The U.S. has lost 5 million factory tasks when possible can help with  
3
60/563-4936 z fax: 888/786-8777  
jobs since 2000. And trade has indeed this. The valuable employees we do  
claimed production jobs—in particu- have can perhaps be moved to other  
lar when China joined the World Trade areas, making it a win-win.  
Europe  
Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
9
9 Kings Road  
Westcliff on Sea  
Organization in 2001. Nevertheless,  
We also know that accidents seem  
Essex SSO 8PH England  
(
44) 1-702-477341 z fax: (44) 1-702-477559  
there was no downturn in U.S. to be increasing if you read the articles  
manufacturing output. As a matter about injuries and fatalities in manu-  
of fact, U.S. production has been facturing plants. And these risks aren’t  
growing over the last decades. From going away, especially as glass sizes  
006 to 2013, ‘manufacturing grew by increase.  
7.6%, or at roughly 2.2% per year,’ Barrineau’s articles examine these  
according to a report from Ball State and other issues, and I encourage you  
University. The study reports as well to read both of these reports to learn  
that trade accounted for 13% of the more. Discover why you should, and  
lost U.S. factory jobs, but 88% of the how you can, automate your process-  
jobs were taken by robots and other es if you aren’t already doing so.  
China and Asia  
Contact Publisher Directly  
z EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS  
Michael Chausse, vice president, Vi-Lux Building Products.  
Chris Dimou, CEO, Roto Frank North America, general manager, the  
Americas.  
Tim Dykstra, director of sales, moulding and trim, Royal Building Products  
Scott Gates, president, CEO, Western Window Systems  
Ron Hess, CEO, Window Depot  
Matt Hullander, owner, Hullco Exteriors  
Mark Montgomery, vice president, marketing, US Windows, Ply Gem  
Building Products  
2
1
Joe Shaheen, director, sales and marketing, GED Integrated Solutions  
Kari Tamminga, marketing manager WTS Paradigm  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced  
in any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both  
print and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media  
Services department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
factors at home.”  
And the next time you hear about  
The Fortune article states that the those manufacturing jobs going to  
real robotics revolution is yet to begin. China, you may want to look at the  
And this involves increased invest- data. If instead those jobs are being  
ment in automation and software. lost to machinery and robotics, that  
DWM editor Trey Barrineau delves tells a different tale. Perhaps that story  
deep into both of these issues in our is full of processes streamlined and  
Member  
cover story on page 20 and an article lives saved.  
y
4
Door & Window Market  

DWM
© 2017 Copyright Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved. 
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.