DWM
© 2018 Copyright Key Media and Research All rights reserved. 
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.

4
Door & Window Market
Publisher/ Tara Taffera
Editorial Director ttaffera@glass.com z x113
Editor Trey Barrineau
tbarrineau@glass.com z x130
Contributing Editors Ellen Rogers
erogers@glass.com z x118
Jordan Scott
jscott@glass.com z x133
Director of Research Nick St. Denis
nstdenis@glass.com z x131
Art Director/ Dawn Campbell
Managing Editor dcampbell@glass.com z x150
Art Director Saundra Hutchison
shutchison@glass.com z x132
Advertising Erin Harris
Coordinator eharris@glass.com
z x110
Marketing Director Holly Biller
hbiller@glass.com z x123
Director of Events Tina Czar
tczar@glass.com z x115
Marketing Assistants Jen Mugridge
jmugridge@glass.com z x117
Jenna Reed
jreed@glass.com z x135
Customer Relations Janeen Mulligan
Manager jmulligan@glass.com z x112
Web Developer Bryan Hovey
bhovey@glass.com z x125
Video Producer Chris Bunn
cbunn@glass.com z x121
Published by Key Media & Research
Debra Levy, president
20 P G A Drive, Suite 201
Stafford, Virginia 22554
540/720-5584 z fax: 540/720-5687 z www.glass.com
z ADVERTISING OFFICES z
Midwest, Plain Lisa Naugle z lnaugle@glass.com
States and Texas 312/850-0899 z fax: 312/277-2912
Southeast Scott Rickles z srickles@glass.com
770/664-4567 z fax: 770/740-1399
Northeast, West Coast Josh Lentz z jlentz@glass.com
and Canada 360/563-4936 z fax: 888/786-8777
Europe Patrick Connolly z patco@glass.com
In United Kingdom:
(44) 1-702-477341 z fax: (44) 1-702-477559
Asia and Casey Flores z cflores@glass.com
South America In United States:
Tel: 540/602-3268
All others Contact Publisher Directly
z EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD MEMBERS
Michael Chausse, vice president, Vi-Lux Building Products
Chris Dimou, CEO, Roto Frank North America, general manager,
the Americas
Tim Dykstra, director of sales, moulding and trim, Royal Building Products
Scott Gates, president, CEO, Western Window Systems
Ron Hess, CEO, Window Depot
Matt Hullander, owner, Hullco Exteriors
Mark Montgomery, vice president, marketing, US Windows, Ply Gem
Building Products
Joe Shaheen, director, sales and marketing, GED Integrated Solutions
Kari Tamminga, marketing manager, WTS Paradigm
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced
in any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both
print and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media
Services department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.
Member
DOOR & WINDOW MARKET MAGAZINE
The Time is Now
BY TARA TAFFERA
H
eres what happened when the
administrations tax reform
bill became law at the end
of last year. The corporate tax rate
was slashed from 35 percent to 21
percent. Companies can now write
off immediately the full cost of new
equipment for the next five years.
And the deduction for capital expens
-
es under Section 179 will rise from
$500,000 to $1 million, with a limit of
$2.5 million.
So to those who have been consid
-
ering a significant capital purchase ….
The answer is clear: move for
-
ward with the purchase. You have
already been thinking about it. You
must have a need for it, whether it is
a software or machinery upgrade. So
with these tax breaks you should take
advantage of the opportunity.
DWM editor Trey Barrineau breaks
down all the components of the tax
plan in his feature on page 18. He
talked to machinery suppliers who say
the number of inquiries have picked
up over the last few years, and have
definitely increased in large numbers.
Yet in the past few months, after the
passage of the plan, many suppliers
havent noticed a further uptick.
I find this surprising. So if you need
further evidence of why now may be
the right time to buy, consider this.
One expert quoted in DWMs look
at the tax plan suggests that these
tax advantages may further speed
along the trend toward automation.
So dont get left behind—not when
you now have additional incentives to
make the purchase more feasible for
your company.
Dont just plow ahead without
taking a hard look at your finances
to make sure this is a wise choice.
Trey has tips from experts on that
topic as well. Gather the data, dig in
and study it, establish priorities and
move ahead.
If you are going to buy ….
… Get out and visit suppliers and
find out what they can offer you.
And if you can swing it, travel to
Nuremberg, Germany, March 21-24
for the biennial Fensterbau trade fair.
This is absolutely the place to see
the latest in automated software and
machinery. Our European counter
-
parts are always ahead of us here in
the U.S., so Fensterbau is a great trade
show to check out the future of win
-
dows and doors, and of all the compo-
nents that go into them.
As I said, the future is now. Take
advantage of all the opportunities to
help your business find success. y
F R O M T H E P U B L I S H E R
ttaffera@glass.com
Don’t get left behind—not when
you now have additional incentives to
make the purchase more feasible
for your company.

DWM
© 2018 Copyright Key Media and Research All rights reserved. 
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.