Volume 42, Issue 2 - February 2007

GANA Perspectives

Hats Off
Recognizing Leaders in the Glass Industry
by Stanley L. Smith

At the Glass Association of North America (GANA) our leaders are the backbone of our association. We wish to acknowledge and thank all those who volunteered their time in 2006, as well as our entire membership, for their hard work throughout last year.

I ask that you join me in expressing your appreciation to these volunteer leaders at the next opportunity you have. 

GANA Board of Directors

Julie Schimmelpenningh, Solutia Inc., GANA president;
Andrew Gum, Thomas Glass Co. Inc., GANA first vice president;
Brad Austin, Apogee (Viracon), GANA second vice president
Michael Ondrus, Atwood Mobile Products, GANA treasurer;
Ben Beeler, Virginia Glass Products, GANA secretary;
Max Perilstein, Arch Aluminum and Glass, BEC division chairperson;
Kris Vockler, ICD High Performance Coatings, decorative division chairperson;
Henry Gorry, Guardian Industries Corp., FGM division chairperson;
Bob Larson, Craftsman Tempered Glass, insulating division chairperson;
John Bush, Oldcastle Glass, laminating division chairperson;
Tom Crawford , Donisi Mirror Co., mirror division chairperson;
Cliff Monroe, Arch Aluminum and Glass, tempering division chairperson;
Scott Surma, DecoTherm, decorative division, member at large;
Stephen Weidner, Pilkington North America Inc., FGM division member at large;
Lee Harrison, Walker Glass Co. Ltd., GANA past president.

BEC Division
Henry Taylor, Kawneer Co. Inc., technical committee chair.

Decorative Division
BJ Katz, Meltdown Glass, membership committee chair;
Scott Surma, IIMAK, marketing committee chair;
Greg Thompson, Indiana Art Glass Inc., testing and standards committee chair;
Kris Vockler, ICD High Performance Coatings, scope/objectives task group chair.

Flat Glass Manufacturing Division
Steve Farrar, Guardian Industries Corp., educational committee chair;
Scott Hoover, Pilkington North America Inc., website committee chair;
Mike Turnbull, Guardian Industries Corp., environmental committee chair.

Insulating Division
Tim Moore, Arch Aluminum and Glass, technical committee chair;
Bill O達rien, Dow Corning Corp., education chair;
Tracy Rogers, Edgetech IG, marketing committee chair and membership committee chair.

Laminating Division
Peter Anderson, Apogee (Viracon), product labeling task group chair;
Valerie Block, DuPont, marketing committee chair; membership committee chair;
John Bush, Oldcastle Glass, glass flooring task group;
Dan Laporte, Solutia Inc., technical committee chair and education chair;
Julie Schimmelpenningh, Solutia Inc., ball drop test method task group chair, Laminated Glazing Reference Manual task group chair and nominating committee chair.

Mirror Division
Randy Brooks, Gardner Glass Co., promotions committee chair.

Tempering Division
Ren Bartoe, Vesuvius USA, membership committee chair;
Dennis Csehi, Atwood Mobile Products, nominating committee chair;
Joel Feingold, Strainoptic Inc., optical distortion subcommittee chair;
Cliff Monroe, Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc., education chair;
Kevin Olah, Guardian Industries Corp., vehicular subcommittee chair;
Mike Rupert, PPG Industries Inc., construction subcommittee chair;
Kris Vockler, ICD High Performance Coatings, marketing committee chair;
Chuck Wencl, Apogee (Viracon), standards and engineering committee chair.

Association Wide
Jerry Razwick, Technical Glass Products, fire protective glazing committee chair;
Valerie Block, DuPont, protective glazing committee chair. 

Stanley L. Smith is the executive vice president of the Glass Association of North America in Topeka, Kan.

Copyright 2007 Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved.
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.