Volume 45, Issue 11 - November 2010


Glazing Industry Leaders Recognized GANA Thanks Its Leaders for Contributions
by William Yanek
The Glass Association of North America’s (GANA) leaders are invaluable to all that GANA does. In recognition of that strong commitment to the association and industry, GANA staff and elected leadership would like to thank our volunteers.

During 2010, GANA members produced glass informational bulletins on a variety of subjects, updated the Guide to Architectural Glass (formerly the Specifiers Guide to Architectural Glass), published white papers regarding LEED® and produced a new Protective Glazing Manual in a joint effort with the Protective Glazing Council International.

Additionally, GANA volunteer leaders aggressively advocated on behalf of the glass and glazing industry at international, national and state level forums.

I ask that everyone join me in expressing your appreciation to GANA’s volunteer leaders at the next opportunity you have. Our industry significantly benefits from their dedication and hard work.
GANA’s Volunteer Leaders:

GANA Board of Directors
• Tom Crawford, Donisi Mirror Co. - GANA president
• Scott Surma, DecoTherm - GANA vice president
• Jon Johnson, Arch Deco - GANA treasurer
• Jay Phillips, Guardian Industries Corp. - GANA secretary
• Henry Taylor, Kawneer Co. Inc. – Building Envelope Contractors Division chair
• Kris Vockler, ICD High Performance Coatings - Decorative Division chair
• Jon Hughes, AGC – Flat Glass Manufacturing Division chair
• Tracy Rogers, Edgetech IG - Insulating Division chair
• Jim Ventre, Vitro America Inc. - Mirror Division chair
• Rick Wright, Oldcastle BuildingEnvelope - Tempering Division chair
• Michael Ondrus, Glasstech Inc. - GANA immediate past president

Building Envelope Contractors (BEC) Division
• Jon Kimberlain, Dow Corning Corp. - Proper Procedures for Deglazing task group chair
• Bill Sullivan, Heartland Glass Co. - BEC Scholarship Committee chair
• Doug Penn, United Glass Corp. - Technical Committee chair

Decorative Division
• Jeff Nixon, Glass Coatings and Concepts LLC - Product Color and Durability Subcommittee chair
• Joseph Ryan, Ferro Corp. - Glazing Materials Compatibility Testing task group chair
• Cathie Saroka, Goldray Industries - Membership Committee Chair, Website Committee chair
• Greg Saroka, Goldray Industries - Technical Committee chair
• Matthew Tangeman, Custom Glass Machinery - Education Committee chair, Digital Printing on Glass task group chair
• Geoff Weinstock, Schilling Graphics Inc. - Printing on Glass task group chair

Flat Glass Manufacturing Division
• Mitch Edwards, Guardian Industries Corp. - Technical Committee chair
• Steve Farrar, Guardian Industries Corp. - Educational Committee chair
• Pam Rygalski, Pilkington North America Inc. - Climate Change Committee chair

Insulating Division
• Joe Erb, Edgetech IG - Website Committee chair
• Randi Ernst, FDR Design Inc. - IGU with Gas Content task group chair
• Cliff Monroe, Arch Aluminum and Glass Co. - Edge Seals for IG Units task group chair
• Jon Kimberlain, Dow Corning Corp. - Education Subcommittee chair
• Tracy Rogers, Edgetech IG - Membership Committee Chair, Capillary Tubes task group chair
• Aaron Thompson, Apogee (Viracon) - Technical Committee chair

Laminating Division
• Valerie Block, DuPont - Education Committee Chair, Membership Committee chair, Laminated Glass Railing System GIB task group chair
• Dan Laporte, Solutia Inc. - Technical Committee Chair, Education Subcommittee chair
• Fred Millet, Pleotint - Laminated Glass in Dynamic Glazing task group chair
• Cliff Monroe, Arch Aluminum and Glass Co. - Considerations for Cleaning Laminated Glass task group chair
• Julie Schimmelpenningh, Solutia Inc. - Ball-Drop Task Group Chair, Laminated Glazing Reference Manual task group chair, Laminated Glass Weight task group chair, Nominating Committee chair, ASTM C 1172 Review task group chair, Glass Furniture GIB task group chair

Mirror Division
• Randy Brooks, Gardner Glass Co. - Concentrated Solar Power task group chair
• Sylvain Denis, Walker Glass Co. Ltd. - Technical Committee chair
• Marc Deschamps, Walker Glass Co. • Ltd. - LEED Task Group Chair
• Mandy Marxen, Gardner Glass Co. - Mirrors: Handle with Extreme Care task group chair, Website Committee chair

Tempering Division
• Ren Bartoe, Vesuvius USA - Membership Committee chair, Optical Distortion Subcommittee chair
• John Colapietro, Oldcastle BuildingEnvelope - Construction Subcommittee chair
• Ed Dean, Vesuvius USA - Education Committee chair
• Cliff Monroe, Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc. - Glass Fab Tempering Session chair
• Jeff Nixon, Glass Coatings and Concepts LLC - Engineering Standards Manual Subcommittee chair
• Kevin Olah, Guardian Industries Corp. - Vehicular Subcommittee chair
• Doug Penn, United Glass Corp. - Fully Tempered Heavy Glass Door task group chair
• Mike Rupert, PPG Industries Inc. - Technical Committee Chair, IWCA Communications task group chair
• Chuck Wencl, Apogee (Viracon) - Roll Wave task group chair
• Scott White, Glaston - ASTM C 1048 Review task group chair

Association Wide
• Valerie Block, DuPont - Protective Glazing Committee chair, Glazing Industry Code Committee chair
• Marc Deschamps, Walker Glass Co. Ltd. - LEED Subcommittee chair
• Steve Farrar, Guardian Industries Corp. - Life-Cycle Cost Analysis task group chair
• Bret Penrod, Pilkington North America Inc. - Fire-Rated Glazing Council Education Committee chair
• Jeff Razwick, Technical Glass Products - Fire-Rated Glazing Council chair
• Tracy Rogers, Edgetech IG - Energy Publications Subcommittee chair
• Helen Sanders, SAGE Electrochromics - Energy Committee chair, ASHRAE Subcommittee chair
• Christine Shaffer, Apogee (Viracon) - Marketing Committee chair
• Nathalie Thibault, Prelco Inc. - Solar Products and Applications Subcommittee chair

William Yanek is executive vice president of GANA. Mr. Yanek’s opinions are solely his own and not necessarily those of this magazine.

© Copyright 2010 Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved.
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.