Volume 49, Issue 4 - April 2014

GANA Perspectives

Deserving Recognition
GANA Celebrates Division Members
by Erin Roberts

Members are the heart and soul of GANA, and it is their collective effort that advances and elevates our industry. At GANA, we are fortunate to have so many dedicated and exceptional volunteers who make us what we are: a united voice for the glazing industry.

Recently, we honored the outstanding work and dedication of several leaders within our standing divisions. The association also introduced the C. Gregory Carney Member of the Year Award, honoring the remarkable contributions of our recently departed associate and glazing industry leader.

2014 Division Members of the Year
The following recipients were nominated by their division peers to receive a Division Member of the Year award for their outstanding work and exceptional dedication.

BEC Division: Chuck Knickerbocker, Technical Glass Products. Chuck Knickerbocker is the current technical committee chair of the BEC division and has dedicated his energy and knowledge to continue building upon the work in draft under the committee. He is also a volunteer on numerous task groups within the division.

Decorative Division: Jeff Nixon, Glass Coatings & Concepts.
Jeff Nixon serves as a subcommittee chair for the division’s product and color durability group, and worked on creating a document that the division was proud to publish. He plays an active role not only in the decorative division but within the entire GANA organization. He provides expertise in his respective division but also participates heavily by providing leadership, organizational knowledge, and business insight at the board level.

Energy Division: Mark Silverberg, Technoform. Mark Silverberg was instrumental in moving the former GANA energy committee toward becoming a full division. As the vice chair of the division and also serving as committee chair and vice chair for several projects, he exudes energy (pun intended) in making this division a premier location for those in the industry to come together for a common purpose.

Insulating Division: John Dwyer, Syracuse Glass Co. John Dwyer was instrumental in the creation of GANA’s insulating division, when it was formed after the closure of the distribution division. Always willing to lend a helping hand, he is a person who will not constantly need the floor to speak his opinion, but when he does speak, everyone listens.

Laminating Division: Julie Schimmelpenningh, Eastman Chemical Co. Julie Schimmelpenningh is a constant presence in the laminating division and is looked to for leadership and technical expertise. There is probably not a single effort within the division over the last 20 years in which she has not played some role.

Mirror Division: Mandy Marxen, Gardner Glass Products. Mandy Marxen was presented this award for her dedication to improving and enhancing the industry. She leads many of the division’s committees and task groups, and also served as division chair.

Tempering Division: Ren Bartoe, Vesuvius USA. Ren Bartoe has, for many years, been a catalyst in making GANA and its tempering division very important entities in the glass community. His personal and corporate efforts to enhance the industry and its image have never been exceeded by others within the heat-treating industry. Perseverance on any task given to him, he is often known for his willingness to include anyone, and his love of friends and family.

2014 C. Gregory Carney
Member of the Year Award
In November 2013, GANA and the glass industry lost a dear friend and industry leader, Greg Carney. Carney spent more than 30 years in the industry and served as the GANA technical director from 1999 to 2009. He was known as an enthusiastic, welcoming and remarkably knowledgeable leader.

The creation of the award is meant to carry forward Carney’s spirit of commitment, collaboration and camaraderie while honoring other GANA members who exemplify a similar enthusiasm and dedication to the industry. Nominees for this award are selected by staff and voted upon by the GANA board of directors.

Arthur Berkowitz, president of J.E. Berkowitz LP, was honored with this award for his involvement in organizing the recent GANA Northeast Regional Roundtable in Newark, N.J., his support in developing the concept of an executive glazing management session, and for his efforts to encourage independent fabricators to continue involvement within GANA.

Erin Roberts is the director of marketing and communications for the Glass Association of North America in Topeka, Kan.

© Copyright 2014 Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved.
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.