Issue@Hand  
deb@glass.com; twitter:@keycomm; http://deblog.usglassmag.com  
Publisher Debra A. Levy  
Extension 111 • deb@glass.com  
Editor Ellen Rogers  
Extension 118 • erogers@glass.com  
Assistant Editor Nick St. Denis  
Extension 131 • nstdenis@glass.com  
Our Big Short  
Special Projects Megan Headley  
Editor Extension 114 • mheadley@glass.com  
he Glass Association of North America’s (GANA’s) Building Envelope Con-  
tractors (BEC) Conference educational program, held in late February, was  
excellent.One presentation in particular highlighted changes that could have  
long-term implications for the industry. The session, led by Serge Martin of AGC  
Glass Company,was an informative and fact-filled one.In it,Martin took some issue  
with the infamous Wall Street Journal article of a few months ago that predicted a  
glass shortage. Here’s my top five take-aways from his presentation:  
Contributing Tara Taffera, vice president  
Editors Extension 113 • ttaffera@glass.com  
T
Trey Barrineau  
Extension 130 • tbarrineau@glass.com  
Casey Flores  
Extension 120 • cflores@glass.com  
Jenna Reed  
Extension 135 • jreed@glass.com  
Art Director/ Dawn Campbell  
Clear is less: Clear glass is now approximately 55 percent of all glass  
manufactured, down significantly from more than 77 percent just a few  
years ago.  
Managing Editor Extension 150 • dcampbell@glass.com  
Art Director Saundra Hutchison  
Extension 132 • shutchison@glass.com  
Advertising Erin Harris  
Coordinator Extension11 0 • eharris@glass.com  
Residential dominates: but only in tonnage. Though approximately  
half the square footage of glass manufactured ends up in residential app-  
lications, when broken out by dollar volume, commercial is higher due to  
the greater value-added dollar volume.  
Events Manager Tina Czar  
Extension 115 • tczar@glass.com  
Marketing Holly Biller, vice president  
Director Extension 123 • hbiller@glass.com  
Marketing Kelcy Summers  
Manufacturers get 5 percent: Martin showed a telling graphic of  
where the value goes in every dollar of glass, stressing that only 5 percent  
goes to the manufacturer.  
Manager Extension 117 • ksummers@glass.com  
Customer Janeen Mulligan  
Relations Mgr. Extension 112 • jmulligan@glass.com  
Web Bryan Hovey  
Developer Extension 125 • bhovey@glass.com  
Supply=demand. Or just so about right now. Martin took the group  
through a chart showing demand for glass vs. the supply of glass for an  
approximately 20-year span. Only twice during that time has demand just  
about equaled supply. We are just about in that state right now.  
Video Chris Bunn  
Producer Extension 121 • cbunn@glass.com  
Published by  
Key Communications Inc.  
P.O. Box 569  
Garrisonville,VA 22463 USA  
Any shortage, if it occurs, might be in 2018: As demand begins  
to exceed supply, some shortages could be expected then, but Martin was  
not definitive on whether or not it would occur. Could occur? Sure. Would  
occur? No one knows.  
5
40/720-5584; fax 540/720-5687  
Advertising Offices:  
Midwest Lisa Naugle  
Associate Publisher  
lnaugle@glass.com  
And understandably, the topic of a glass shortage was in play at the conference.  
Most of those with whom I spoke made an allowance for the possibility, but no one  
was on record predicting one.I would hope we have learned by now that announcing  
an impending shortage of anything is not a long-term way toward more sales. Oh  
sure,it may give you a short-term boost,but in the long run what happens?Architects  
who are designing buildings now,headed toward construction in a year or two,begin  
to use less glass in anticipation of shortages or major price increases.  
Our biggest competitors—the brick manufacturers, metal full façade fabricators,  
plastic makers and others who supply product for the building exteriors and interi-  
ors—are licking their proverbial chops at the thought of a glass shortage.We, as an  
industry, should never speculate to the point we decrease demand. It may get you a  
fast rush on sales,but it will kill you in the long run.It’s just foolhardy to do so.  
Phone 312/850-0899 Fax 312/277-2912  
Northeast & Josh Lentz  
Canada jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360/563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Southeast Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
Phone 770/664-4567 Fax 770/740-1399  
West Coast Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360-563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Europe Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
9
9 Kings Road,Westcliff on Sea  
Essex SS0 8PH ENGLAND  
Phone (44) 1-702-477341 Fax (44) 1-702-477559  
Deb  
China,Asia Contact Publisher Directly  
and all Others  
P.S. As I am writing this, the news reports of the tragic bombing at the Brussel’s  
airport and subway are just beginning to come in.So sad to see the trappings of tragedy  
played out once again.Whether Paris or Istanbul, Brussels or New York, these tragedies  
have become an almost daily reminder of man’s inhumanity to man. And sadly, too,  
glass always seems to play a role. It was a small glimmer of relief to see that so much of  
the glass that was affected was either safety glass or filmed. It probably meant the  
difference between life and death for a number of victims.  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced in  
any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both print  
and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media Services  
department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
MEMBER,  
6
USGlass, Metal & Glazing | April 2016