Issue@Hand  
deb@glass.com; twitter:@keycomm; http://deblog.usglassmag.com  
Publisher Debra A. Levy  
Extension 111 • deb@glass.com  
Editor Ellen Rogers  
Extension 118 • erogers@glass.com  
Assistant Editor Nick St. Denis  
Extension 131 • nstdenis@glass.com  
Ready for Our Close-Up1  
Special Projects Megan Headley  
Editor Extension 114 • mheadley@glass.com  
aybe it was because the Academy Awards were going to be the follow-  
ing Sunday. Or maybe because, in light of this, I had just heard a list of  
the top ten best movie lines of all time (number one was Rhett Butler’s  
2
Contributing Tara Taffera, vice president  
Editors Extension 113 • ttaffera@glass.com  
M
Trey Barrineau  
Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn ). But whatever the reason, listening to the  
Extension 130 • tbarrineau@glass.com  
participants on the“Design and Fabrication of Large-Sized Glass”panel at GANA’s  
Building Envelope Contractors Conference last month brought number three on  
that list to mind:“You’re going to need a bigger boat.” Indeed.  
Casey Flores  
Extension 120 • cflores@glass.com  
3
Jenna Reed  
Extension 135 • jreed@glass.com  
To hear panelists James Cole of AGNORA, Jeff Haber of W&W Glass and Kelly  
Schuller of Viracon tell it, size doesn’t matter all that much. That is, glass is still  
made the same way, only bigger. None of the three panelists perceived any insur-  
mountable problems with its fabrication, other than scheduling.  
It’s once that glass is fabricated and needs to be transported that the bigger boat  
comes in.  
Art Director/ Dawn Campbell  
Managing Editor Extension 150 • dcampbell@glass.com  
Art Director Saundra Hutchison  
Extension 132 • shutchison@glass.com  
Advertising Erin Harris  
Coordinator Extension11 0 • eharris@glass.com  
Events Manager Tina Czar  
“You have to be able to move it,” said Cole, “that’s the challenging part.”“You  
Extension 115 • tczar@glass.com  
have to be able to truck it, to move it, to lift it, set it and even figure out how to  
turn corners,“ said Haber.“ Most places where it would be installed usually limit  
the hours you can work there too. So every step of the way, you have to figure out  
how to move, lift and install it,” he said while pictures of large-sized glass, some  
being installed with as many as 24 suctions on vacuum lifts, were shown on the  
screen.And you don’t want to break it.  
I think we forget sometimes that glass starts out as a continuous ribbon that is  
cut into pieces. Larger-sized glass means less frequent cuts. Making it is easy, it’s  
the fabrication and the movement that’s the tough part.  
Marketing Holly Biller, vice president  
Director Extension 123 • hbiller@glass.com  
Marketing Kelcy Summers  
Manager Extension 117 • ksummers@glass.com  
Customer Janeen Mulligan  
Relations Mgr. Extension 112 • jmulligan@glass.com  
Web Bryan Hovey  
Developer Extension 125 • bhovey@glass.com  
Video Chris Bunn  
Producer Extension 121 • cbunn@glass.com  
You could tell none of the panelists had any fear about working with the largest  
of the large.They are comfortable working with these gargantuan planes of silica.  
Yet, in order to gain acceptance, two other groups must increase their comfort  
level as well: contract glaziers and architects.  
Published by  
Key Communications Inc.  
P.O. Box 569  
Garrisonville,VA 22463 USA  
5
40/720-5584; fax 540/720-5687  
Advertising Offices:  
Midwest Lisa Naugle  
Associate Publisher  
lnaugle@glass.com  
I have confidence in the glazing contractors. Savvy contract glaziers have been  
coordinating logistics such as these for years. They are used to staging every sec-  
ond of every-sized glass lite’s trek to its final home. The fear comes in the ramifi-  
cations when something goes wrong.“You obviously can’t replace it the next day,”  
said Schuller, reminding the group how important precision logistics are.  
Just as glazing contractors have learned to install everything from the largest to the  
most obscure types of glass over the years,I have no doubt the installation of large-  
size lites will become routine for them one day—if the architects come along.  
And there’s the dirty little paradox of glass,the titanic titan of the tin bath4 (yes,  
I am sticking with the movie analogies): architects are rather fearful of designing  
them. Oh sure, those starchitects pushing the (building) envelope are designing  
with these large-sizers, even building demand. Yet the average architect ranges  
from wary to downright afraid of designing with these larger lites.  
Phone 312/850-0899 Fax 312/277-2912  
Northeast & Josh Lentz  
Canada jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360/563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Southeast Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
Phone 770/664-4567 Fax 770/740-1399  
West Coast Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360-563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Europe Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
9
9 Kings Road,Westcliff on Sea  
I recently spoke with an architect who was looking to eliminate mullions and  
framing on the entrance side of a car dealership. “You’re in luck,” I said tri-  
umphantly. “They are now fabricating much larger expanses of glass and you  
should be able to fill this whole opening with one continuous piece of glass.”  
Essex SS0 8PH ENGLAND  
Phone (44) 1-702-477341 Fax (44) 1-702-477559  
China,Asia Contact Publisher Directly  
and all Others  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced in  
any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both print  
and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media Services  
department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
“Oh no, I don’t want to get into that,” he answered.“Too much risk, too much  
engineering required,” he said, whatever that means.  
This sentiment is similar to other variations I’ve heard.So maybe,“what we have here  
5
MEMBER,  
is a failure to communicate.” Or maybe it’s the architects who need the bigger boat.  
—Deb  
1Sunset Blvd, 1950; 2Gone with the Wind, 1939; 3Jaws; 1975; 4Titanic, 1997; 5Cool Hand Luke, 1967  
4
USGlass, Metal & Glazing | March 2016