Issue@Hand  
deb@glass.com; twitter:@keycomm; http://deblog.usglassmag.com  
Publisher Debra A. Levy  
Extension 111 • deb@glass.com  
Editor Ellen Rogers  
Extension 118 • erogers@glass.com  
Assistant Editor Nick St. Denis  
Extension 131 • nstdenis@glass.com  
Don’t Trend on Me  
Special Projects Megan Headley  
Editor Extension 114 • mheadley@glass.com  
Contributing Tara Taffera, vice president  
Editors Extension 113 • ttaffera@glass.com  
he amount of change in the world, and the pace at which it occurs, contin-  
ues to amaze me. Take trends for example. Trends are no longer things,  
they’re actions. So here’s my top five list of what’s “trending” in the glass  
world of the future:  
Acoustical purity: as restaurant critics begin to rate the amount  
of noise in the establishments they review, and concert halls start to  
publish their acoustical ratings, we can see how important noise, or  
the lack of it, has become. This new emphasis will be true in the glass  
industry,as well.The importance of acoustical ratings,and acoustical glass prod-  
ucts, will continue to grow. It’s a trend that must be listened to.  
Looking over the edge: new technology and new machines have  
brought with them new ways to edge glass. Look for glass edging to  
become almost an art form in the future.And watch for some combi-  
nation of technology and machines to create circumstances where cus-  
tom edges become more the norm than the exception.  
A Glaring issue: publicity about buildings like the “walkie-talkie”  
building in London, or others that have melted traffic cones on the  
street, have led to increased discussion around glare. I recently at-  
tended a symposium about the subject and was fascinated to learn  
how highly scientific the study of glare actually is. The variety and depth of glare  
matrices astounded me. There’s even a four-level scale to define glare in layman’s  
terms. Glare, it seems, goes from being imperceptible to perceptible then dis-  
turbing to intolerable. I was heartened to see, however, that the most “clearing”  
example of glare run amok was the Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles.Those  
of you who know the building know that metal,not glass,was the culprit.But glass  
glare itself will be a new item to be evaluated and mitigated in the future.  
Trey Barrineau  
Extension 130 • tbarrineau@glass.com  
T
Casey Flores  
Extension 120 • cflores@glass.com  
Jenna Reed  
Extension 135 • jreed@glass.com  
Art Director/ Dawn Campbell  
Managing Editor Extension 150 • dcampbell@glass.com  
Art Director Saundra Hutchison  
Extension 132 • shutchison@glass.com  
Advertising Erin Harris  
Coordinator Extension11 0 • eharris@glass.com  
Events Manager Tina Czar  
Extension 115 • tczar@glass.com  
Marketing Holly Biller, vice president  
Director Extension 123 • hbiller@glass.com  
Marketing Kelcy Summers  
Manager Extension 117 • ksummers@glass.com  
Customer Janeen Mulligan  
Relations Mgr. Extension 112 • jmulligan@glass.com  
Web Bryan Hovey  
Developer Extension 125 • bhovey@glass.com  
Video Chris Bunn  
Producer Extension 121 • cbunn@glass.com  
Published by  
Key Communications Inc.  
P.O. Box 569  
Garrisonville,VA 22463 USA  
5
40/720-5584; fax 540/720-5687  
Advertising Offices:  
Midwest Lisa Naugle  
Associate Publisher  
lnaugle@glass.com  
Watson” glass: this glass trend is named in honor of Watson, the  
computer IBM created that can perform human functions, including  
play Jeopardy on TV.It can think within human context.And that’s ex-  
actly what glass is going to do in the future. Glass will adapt to the en-  
vironmental conditions, as well as to the desires of its owner. It will change based  
on conditions and feelings of the day and will be controlled by the user. Got the  
Monday morning blues? Log in and your glass will, too.  
Phone 312/850-0899 Fax 312/277-2912  
Northeast & Josh Lentz  
Canada jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360/563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Southeast Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
Phone 770/664-4567 Fax 770/740-1399  
Privacy please: the need and desire for the ability to block out Wi-Fi  
and other electronic media has advanced as quickly as the need to use  
Wi-Fi and other electronic media.Nearly 25 years ago,I visited a primary  
manufacturer outside of this country who must remain nameless. I was  
taken to a small room in which a radio and television were on.My host explained how  
there were many types of“rays”in the atmosphere that send signals and other infor-  
mation. This technology was used for good,of course,but it was also used to spy on  
U.S.embassies and other secure locations around the world.My host then took a box  
made completely out of glass that was open on one side and covered both the TV and  
the radio. Both went dead. The signal was interrupted and could no longer reach its  
intended targets. I often think about that demonstration in our current completely  
digital age.Expect glass that will stop Wi-Fi and other technology on command.  
How trendy!  
West Coast Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360-563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Europe Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
9
9 Kings Road,Westcliff on Sea  
Essex SS0 8PH ENGLAND  
Phone (44) 1-702-477341 Fax (44) 1-702-477559  
China,Asia Contact Publisher Directly  
and all Others  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced in  
any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both print  
and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media Services  
department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
MEMBER,  
4
USGlass, Metal & Glazing | May 2016