Issue@Hand  
Publisher Debra A. Levy  
deb@glass.com; twitter:@keycomm; http://deblog.usglassmag.com  
Extension 111 • deb@glass.com  
Editor Ellen Rogers  
Extension 118 • erogers@glass.com  
Assistant Editor Katherine Coig  
Extension 152 • kcoig@glass.com  
Research Editor Nick St. Denis  
Extension 131 • nstdenis@glass.com  
Hyalophobia  
Contributing Tara Taffera, vice president  
o you know what Hyalophobia is? Or Nelophobia? In all my years in this  
Editors Extension 113 ttaffera@glass.com  
business, I had never heard of either until a clue on Jeopardyhad the an-  
swer (or question depending on your point of view) of “What is Hyalopho-  
bia?” Hyalophobia is an insidious disease and can be deadly, especially when it  
affects the building industry or code officials.Based on what I’m seeing, we could  
be on the cusp of a pandemic if the glass industry doesn’t step up.  
Hyalophobia is a fear of glass. (Nelophobia is more akin to fear of glass break-  
age and injury from glass, by the way.) It’s synonymous with Hyelophobia and  
it means fear of glass as a material. I’m afraid we’re seeing the pre-cursor to an  
outbreak among the building community. Let me explain.  
A recent webinar sponsored by the ComEd Energy Efficiency program and  
Seventhwave featured a discussion among architects and other building profes-  
sionals professing that, when it comes to glass and glazing,“less is more.”  
Architect Brett Bridgeland of Seventhwave demonstrated modeling examples  
in which a building with what he called a “strategic” 40-percent window-to-wall  
ratio (WWR) had a higher Useful Daylight Index when compared to one with an  
Trey Barrineau  
Extension 130 • tbarrineau@glass.com  
D
Art Director/ Dawn Campbell  
Managing Editor Extension 150 dcampbell@glass.com  
Art Director Saundra Hutchison  
Extension 132 • shutchison@glass.com  
Advertising Erin Harris  
Coordinator Extension110 eharris@glass.com  
Marketing Holly Biller, vice president  
Director Extension 123 hbiller@glass.com  
Director DeAnna Marcotte  
of Events Extension 127 dmarcotte@glass.com  
Events Manager Tina Czar  
Extension 115 • tczar@glass.com  
Marketing Jenna Reed  
Assistants Extension 135 •jreed@glass.com  
Jen Mugridge  
Extension 117 •jmugridge@glass.com  
8
5-percent WWR.  
He said that “... in most cases, designing the WWR for the sake of saving elec-  
Customer Janeen Mulligan  
Relations Mgr. Extension 112 jmulligan@glass.com  
Web Bryan Hovey  
trical lighting probably isn’t a valid strategy, and will become even more so as  
electrical lighting and LED lighting become more efficient on their own.”He said  
it’s “a more complex optimization problem than just maximizing the amount of  
glass in the space.”  
Now, it would be easy to discount the comments in this webinar as Hyalophobia,  
but that would be short-sighted, as the premise of the webinar could wound our  
industry or prove fatal.And the only medicine that will defeat it is data.  
Instinctively it feels that the aesthetics and effects of glass would counter the ef-  
fects of Hyalophobia, and on an anecdotal level it would. But battles of the wall are  
not fought in anecdotes; they must be fought with facts and data.  
Developer Extension 125 bhovey@glass.com  
Video Chris Bunn  
Producer Extension 121 cbunn@glass.com  
Published by  
Key Communications Inc.  
2
Stafford, VA 22554 USA  
0 P G A Drive, Suite 201  
540/720-5584; fax 540/720-5687  
Advertising Offices:  
Midwest Lisa Naugle  
Associate Publisher  
lnaugle@glass.com  
The webinar participants talked about moving toward designs that remove  
glass from the sleeping areas in multifamily housing since “people often have  
their blinds shut anyway.”Well, data would be needed on these assertions as well.  
We need complete measures of occupant comfort factors when considered against  
different types of glass with distinct performance characteristics. Do we know the  
glass Bridgeland and his colleagues considered when developing their matrices?  
I remember when Scott Thomsen, then president of Guardian’s Flat Glass Group,  
called me to talk about the proposed changes in the building codes that would  
massively reduce WWR. He was surprised that many in the industry didn’t feel a  
sense of urgency. I contacted several industry thought leaders, including company  
and association heads, sounding the alarm. We did a number of digital and print  
campaigns explaining the issue,as well.The industry responded,and“battle for the  
wall”became the industry’s most successful one to date.  
Phone 312/850-0899 Fax 312/277-2912  
Northeast & Josh Lentz  
Canada jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360/563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Southeast Scott Rickles  
srickles@glass.com  
Phone 770/664-4567 Fax 770/740-1399  
West Coast Josh Lentz  
jlentz@glass.com  
Phone 360-563-4936 Fax 888/786-8777  
Europe Patrick Connolly  
patco@glass.com  
99 Kings Road, Westcliff on Sea  
Essex SS0 8PH ENGLAND  
Phone (44) 1-702-477341 Fax (44) 1-702-477559  
China, Asia Contact Publisher Directly  
and all Others  
Well this time, I am sounding a different type of alarm. The Hyalophobia we’re  
facing is a small virus right now.But it’s going to grow and mutate as viruses do.If  
we, as an industry, are not in the lab NOW creating medicines and preventatives,  
it will eventually best us. We are going to need an arsenal of measures and data  
to fight this successfully. I’m happy to help fight this disease. If you want to help,  
please reach out. This is a long-range problem that will need constant attention,  
and it’s not a problem that can be solved by reaction. We need pre-action and  
Permissions: Material in this publication may not be reproduced in  
any format without publisher’s permission. Request for both print  
and PDF reprints should be directed to the Digital Media Services  
department, 540/720-5584; dms@glass.com.  
MEMBER,  
pro-activity or Hyalophobia will take its toll.  
—Deb  
4
USGlass, Metal & Glazing | June 2017  

USGlass
© 2017 Copyright Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved. 
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.